Beasley Best Community of Caring

It’s a Major Award!!

On the evening of June 11th, Preston and Steve traveled down to Washington, D.C., to accept an award that has been 21 years in the making. The National Association of Broadcasters Leadership Foundation presented the team with the 2019 Service to Community Award for the Camp Out for Hunger.

Yes, the annual, week-long event received national recognition from the biggest organization in the industry!  In 2018, Preston & Steve’s Camp Out for Hunger donated a record breaking 1.826 million pounds of food and $198,188 to Philabundance, and we couldn’t do it without YOU.

This video, created by Nick Murphy and written by Kevin Gunn for the award nomination, perfectly illustrates  what makes Camp Out for Hunger so special:

Preston & Steve's Camp Out For Hunger

Preston & Steve's Camp Out For Hunger is an annual food drive in Philadelphia. This is a history of the event and a recap of 2018's event. Photo credit - Chorus Photography

Thank you to every single person who has ever supported this drive. Every penny and every pound adds up to to make it the largest food collection in the country and directly benefits our neighbors across the Delaware Valley for a good portion of the year until we do it again. This award is for you, Philadelphia!

As you can imagine (and hear us mention every year) there are tons of people behind the scenes that make this event possible. The WMMR Promotions, Programming, Engineering and Sales Teams work hard all year long and pull double (triple & quadruple) duty that week. A piece of this award is for those people too!

Surrounded by members of the Beasley Media family (L to R): Bill Weston (WMMR-FM Program Director & Man about Town), Heidi Raphael (Chief Communications Officer), Joe Bell (Market Manager), Preston’s dad, Cullen, Preston Elliot,Caroline Beasley (Beasley Media Group CEO), Steve Morrison, Lora Lewis (Community Affairs Director), Allyson Hillman (Director of Sales – Ft. Myers), Jennifer Williams (VP of Digital Marketing) and Justin Chase (EVP of Programming).